Spider Waist

Okay, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration. Camera bags and backpacks are a great way to store your gear. But you can come awfully close to ditching it. And what’s more, you can save yourself potentially having to lug it around all the time. Having hauled my backpack through some rough terrain over the years, I can say I’m finally ready to save my aching upper body. 😀

The first and most important step is to plan your next shoot. If you have clear objectives you can avoid the tendency to take every bit of gear you own. For example, if you’re shooting portraits, you can take a suitable prime lens. Or if you’re doing a wedding, you can take a versatile zoom that allows you to adapt to changing conditions. Planning ahead of time can reduce your fatigue level a great deal.

Spider Camera Holster CroppedThe second step is to find a good way to carry your pre-planned gear along with you. There are many methods, but the one that’s saving my spine and that I’m happy to introduce to you today is something I picked up during my recent trip to the ImagingUSA conference: the “camera holster.” Along with the right accessories, this is a great way to allow your hips to support the weight of your gear instead of your back.

I was initially skeptical; but when I watched the holster demoed on the expo floor, I became a believer. It’s actually quite a nifty feat of engineering, because you deliberately have to lift the camera ninety degrees in order to disengage it from the latch. Otherwise it’s virtually impossible to remove. Now combine it with a place to clip your flash and an extra lens? A near cure-all for sore shoulders.

Do you have ways of your own to avoid carrying too many extra pounds? Let’s hear about them in the comments section! Cheers. 🙂

Gothic Footer

Remember to click here to sign up and become a member of The Twilit Lens’ official mailing list. You’ll receive a free copy of our “Gaunt Dreams” eBook!

SQ Button

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

3 comments

  1. I travel light! I usually travel with my 28-300mm lens. It’s versatile for both landscape and beautiful closer shots with blurred backgrounds. As much as I love my Nikon D750, I dream of a Sony full frame mirrorless with a zeiss lens for travel. 🙂

    1. Mmmm… Zeiss. That’s a name that’s been around for a while. Everything from binoculars to planetarium equipment. Hope you get your wish. 😉 As for equipment carrying in general, it’s my opinion that if you know your gear’s capabilities and are confident in your use of it, you’ll be at least partially freed from having to haul heavy loads everywhere. Then there’s planning your photo ops too. A little thought beforehand has a good payoff in the field.

Leave a Reply

