Pile of Parts HDR

If you didn’t know this about me, I’ve been a shy guy for a good portion of my life. You know the sort: not rocking the boat, staying in the background, fearful of upsetting anyone. Not exactly traits you’d expect in an intrepid photographer. And now here I am, making all sorts of contacts and giving my card out to lots of people. What happened?

When I turned nineteen, I decided to make a change. I decided to ignore the odd looks and the occasional frown, and pursue my passion regardless of what people thought. I figured I was given my talents for a reason and it would be foolish to let them sit quiet and unused. Things just don’t get done unless you make yourself do them.

Junked JagTake these photos, for example. I had to call up a local scrapyard and then visit them in person to ask permission to wander around and take pictures on their property; while their staff was trying to work, no less. I was prepared for a refusal, but I was happy when they said yes. And you get to share the results! :)

So here’s some official (and free 😉 ) advice from The Twilit Lens: I encourage anyone reading this to take some time to consider the futility of worry when it comes to pursuing your goals. Yes, the refusals will come. The occasional annoyed looks will appear. But you can power through them by remembering that most of the people out there wish they had the courage to do what you do.

Gothic Footer

Want a free eBook packed with super photography tips? Then click here to sign up and become a member of The Twilit Lens’ official mailing list!

SQ Button

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

