One more reblog this week. Photos like these remind me of why I got into photography in the first place. Do check out her blog, “There Was a Time.” 🙂

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

a family story

We summered at Shawnigan Lake on the island when we were all young. I look at the old movies and photographs of us- mom, dad and the four siblings, laughing, with arms around each other, and wish I could peel back the fading layers of time. Sometimes I think I see light shining through the cracks and if I just put my eye to it there we all will be again; water skiing, swimming, sitting around the campfire roasting marshmallows and weenies. Of course, we didn’t have iPads or iPhones, so we talked, listened to transistors and read and told stories in the evenings!!

Both my parents, my grandparents,and my little brother are now gone but they and all the rest of us have left a memory here, stirring among the wind eyed trees and echoing on the lake like the lone and unknown piper whose plaintive longing…

View original post 202 more words

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

