Photograph of statue double exposure

Not long ago someone I know accused me of being morbid, no doubt an instinctive reaction to the low-key nature of my work. I respectfully disagree with that view. Instead let me present a dream.

I’ve had light sensitive eyes all my life. I’ll squint when other people’s eyes are wide open. And since I squinted so much in my younger days, I made good use of it and imagined a “World in Twilight” where a dim reflection of our universe was the norm.

Over the years that act of imagination colored my professional leanings. Fascination with the shade and long thought sessions held in solitude: these led to a desire to create images that would make other people stop and think for a while too.

Take the image above, where a little double-exposure action gives even cold stone a soul of sorts. Aristotle may have said “Nothing is what rocks dream about.” But with a few image manipulations, stone can be seen to dream in truth and the viewer dreams right along with it.

I love making these kinds of images. And if I’m doing what I love, what I believe I was made to do, isn’t that at least part of what life is all about?

Exposure Data: ISO 100, f/5.6, 1/400

Gothic Footer

Don’t forget to subscribe to my mailing list! Click here to sign up and receive your free copy of “Gaunt Dreams.”

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

