Photograph of vice clamps

I recently visited my uncle, a mechanical wizard who builds his own custom cars. So many tools and auto parts waited to be photographed! A row of vice clamps in particular caught my eye, and they looked so contrasty that I decided to do a black and white shot of them.

Even though I’m not very mechanically inclined, I still find myself drawn to machinery. In a way, each piece is its own work of art. The only real fly in the ointment was the lighting. Fluorescents everywhere! To avoid using flash while free holding the camera, I had to bump up the ISO to very high levels: something I don’t normally do. Fortunately, Topaz DeNoise came to the rescue.

Exposure Data: ISO 6400, f/4.5, 1/100

Gothic Footer

Don’t forget to subscribe to my mailing list! Click here to sign up and receive a free ebook. Plus you’ll have access to special offers.

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

