photograph of baby birds

In street photography, you have to be prepared to answer the occasional challenge from a passer-by. Even if your lens isn’t pointed toward any human being, some may still wonder what you’re doing. I discovered a bird’s nest under the pediment of a building where I have my current day job; so I set my 60D at a distance where the parents of the chicks (a pair of barn swallows) wouldn’t fear to return and set my drive mode to high speed burst. Meanwhile several people gave me strange looks while I waited for the desired moment. Fortunately, all it took was a smile and a pointing index finger to show what I was after.

It was worth it, of course. I wound up showing the shot off to several folks in the building after I finished post-processing. And almost everyone was enchanted by the site. Let’s face it: there’s nothing quite as cute as baby birds.

Exposure Data: ISO 6400, f/6.3, 1/500

Gothic Footer

Don’t forget to subscribe to my mailing list! Click here to sign up and receive a free ebook. Plus you’ll have access to special offers.

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

