Sample Pin

In my last social media post about Instagram, I mentioned a few of the nuances of using that platform to promote your photographs. Now I’d like to do the same for Pinterest, which is a horse of a different color.

I’ll be honest: Pinterest is a bit new to me personally, so I’ll not pretend to be an expert. Instead I’ll pass on to you what I’ve learned so far…

Firstly, Pinterest has recently installed an analytics service somewhat reminiscent of WordPress’ that allows you to track traffic both to your website and to your Pinterest page. It requires you to “verify” your site, which usually involves adding a meta tag to your home page (but if you use SmugMug like I do, there’s an easier way in their User Settings page).

Secondly, you can use hashtags in the text of Pinterest posts (which are known as “pins”). But unlike Instagram where people routinely post a couple dozen tags per photo, Pinterest has an etiquette that prefers a maximum of four. Anything more than that is considered distracting.

Finally, pins are often grouped in “boards,” which are collections of pins centered around a common theme. The categories are pretty obvious for a photographer: portraiture, weddings, travel, events, etc.

I’ll probably post about this again in the future as I learn more. In the meantime, if you’ve had experiences with Pinterest you’d care to relate, I’m sure it will benefit everyone to discuss them. Cheers!

Gothic Footer

Subscribe to the Official Twilit Lens mailing list today! Click here to sign up and receive your free copy of the ebook “Gaunt Dreams.”

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

