instagram screenshot

Instagram is a great tool for marketing your photography. While it’s true that most people use the app to take photos directly (lots of selfies), it is possible to post and promote shots that you’ve taken with other cameras, even dslrs.

There are two ways of doing this. Since modern smartphones can be hooked up to cloud services like Dropbox, it’s possible to transfer phones from the cloud to the phone and then post them to Instagram. But that’s a little clunky. I prefer a solution like BlueStacks that mimics a mobile device and allows you to upload to Instagram directly from a desktop or laptop.

Once the image has been on-boarded, it’s business as usual. Add comments and hashtags and post away.

As for the hashtags themselves, it’s a good idea to include as many as you can, up to 30 maximum. If you’re running low on ideas for hashtag names, you can go to a very useful website called Hashtagify.me. There, you can search for your favorites and get a readout of related hashtags you can use.

Gothic Footer

I have a mailing list! Click here to sign up and receive a free ebook. Plus you’ll have access to special offers.

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

3 comments

  1. Thanks for this information. Yesterday I read a post about using Pinterest. I’ve limited my expsoure to social media and it’s time I give a serious try at getting my work out there. Homework for me. You’re photo help, so generous of you.

    1. My pleasure, Kay. I am planning on devoting a future post to using Pinterest; but I would encourage you to dive right in! Social media definitely helps with gaining you much needed exposure. Have fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

