Silo Interior Photograph

One of my previous posts detailed my discovery of a small abandoned farm complex by the roadside. But I’ll be honest: I really, really wanted to see those buildings from the inside. So to stay legal, I surveyed the site from the road and found (to my joy) that it was on a nature preserve open to the public!

I made a beeline to the silo and was able to squeeze into the interior. I looked up. And I was awed by what I saw.

It soon became apparent to me that I needed to get an HDR sequence going so as to get more of the details to the viewer. Plus, the contrast of the sunlight outside lent the composition to a black and white treatment.

But when I ran the bracketed shots through Photomatix, I saw the bane of HDR artists: haloing! The tone mapping process can produce strange artifacts where objects seem to have some sort of glowing aura around them. It’s especially bad on tree branches; for some reason the algorithms seem to go a little crazy with all those thin twigs. Not good.

Fortunately I still had the original shots. By layering an original on top of the tone mapped image, I was able to erase the haloed areas, replacing them with clean imagery. The high contrast still remained, so the shot worked regardless.cartoon tick

By the way: whenever you enter a nature preserve, remember to check yourself for ticks when you get home. After taking this shot I came home with a few “passengers.” I suppose sometimes one must suffer for one’s art. 😀

Exposure Data: ISO 100, f/16, (.6″, 1/6, 2.5″)

Gothic Footer

I have a mailing list! Click here to sign up and receive a free ebook. Plus you’ll have access to special offers.

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

