Camera BagHi everyone! A short time ago, Leanne Cole made a great post on her blog about camera bags! Check out the link if you’re curious. It’s worth a read. Now, in the spirit of that post, I thought I’d add a few thoughts of my own about photography gear: a subject near and dear to my own heart.

They say clothes makes the man. So does the gear make the photographer?

Only to a degree, really. Being the best photographers we can be means honing skills that will add professionalism to any photo, regardless of the camera and gear. But having some quality hardware can often make our jobs a lot easier and more of a joy.

Many moons ago, I posted some information on the main camera bodies I use for my work. You can find the links here and here. Both are good starting points for an effective gear ensemble. With this current post I’ll expand on that and give you the details of one of my typical bag loadouts, in this case the one I most use for roadside and urbex shots.

bag1. The Bag Itself! The Tamrac Expedition bags are great. I can vouch for how sturdy they are. Plus they’re very customizable. I find myself tweaking the internal layout from time to time as I evolve as a photographer.

Canon EOS 7D2. Canon EOS 7D: Once again, a plug for my workhorse. 😉 The 7D is a rugged (and I do mean rugged) 18 megapixel NTSC body with 19 focus points and a 23 image maximum burst (as of the latest firmware update). Some of the hazardous environments I find myself in, make a tough-as-nails camera a plus!

Tamron3. Tamron AF 18-270mm: the swiss army knife of my lenses. When as photographers we find ourselves in situations where conditions change a great deal, it helps to have an adaptable lens with decent image quality. This lens fits the bill.

Neewer4. Neewer Remote Shutter Release: Sometimes known as an “intervalometer,” this allows me to override the standard shutter speeds on my camera body. Very useful for extremely dark environments that need more than 30 seconds of exposure.

5. Flashlight: not only good for finding your way in dark places, it also allows me to “paint” a subject so that the camera’s autofocus can lock onto it in the dark.

Rokinon6. Rokinon 8mm fisheye: more specialized than the Tamron, but for those cramped spaces, nothing beats this lens’ field of view.

7. Tripod: this almost goes without saying. Uneven terrain, long exposures? A tripod is my best friend.

8. Spare batteries: not just for the camera but for the flashlight and the remote shutter release too. You can’t be too careful.

9. Business cards: even though I insist on playing by the rules, there’s always the chance somebody’s going to ask me what I’m up to. Business cards help prove I’m an actual professional.

So that’s a glance into my gear. What about you? What do you carry on a typical photo expedition? I’d like to hear from you.

SQ Button

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

Leave a Reply

