Sock Monkey Ruins

That tiny smiling face is appearing in more and more of my photos. Sitting in every dark corner, squatting among the ruins, staring with round button eyes.

It first showed up on my door. A little note said, “To keep you company.”

Now it won’t leave me alone. Sitting on tombstones. Hiding behind rocks, peeking around corners. My head hurts when I look at it. It’s sitting against my wall now. Staring. Camera shaking. Or is it all in my head?

Going to bed. I’m going to pull the covers up over my head. Won’t look out. Afraid to look out. Afraid to see it.

Looking at me…

Gothic Footer

Scared? You should be. But if you dare to dig further…

Subscribe to my email list by clicking here! And you’ll be rewarded for your bravery when you receive a free copy of my ebook “Gaunt Dreams: 10 Tips for Taking Compelling Photos the Twilit Lens Way.”

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

2 comments

  1. Very spooky- something about those frozen watching faces and shark eyes of dolls and the dilapidated toys we abandoned in the attic brhahah etc! nice addition of ghostly music too!!

  2. Thank you, Cybele. Your inclusion of music in your own posts reminded me I had some spare music clips lying around that I’d been wondering what to do with for months. Guess I finally got the chance. 😉 Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

