Teaching

It’s a good feeling to be able to give back to the community, using whatever talents we possess. In my case, for those curious souls out there, I currently moonlight as an instructor at a local day program for disabled adults. One of the classes I teach is (you guessed it) photography, which is naturally my favorite subject.

This week’s session was about urbex photography, an idea that’s near and dear to my heart and one that I believe can be done legally as long as you’re willing to do the additional legwork. And even if you have a disability, there are certain “stabilized ruins” that are professionally maintained, accessible, and open for tours.

Though I’m not able to show the faces of my students on this blog due to privacy concerns, a good time was had by all. The class covered research, safety, essential gear, and special exposure/focusing techniques for low-light conditions. I used a combination of Powerpoint, abundant props, and a smattering of my own shots to illustrate key points.

If you have a talent for education, consider teaching a class yourself. Who knows? Maybe the next great artist will be inspired by your words!

If you haven’t already signed up for my email list, click here! You’ll receive a free copy of my ebook “Gaunt Title Blog GraphicDreams: 10 Tips for Taking Compelling Photos the Twilit Lens Way.” Plus you’ll also be eligible for exclusive content, including special discounts on Twilit Lens services, prints, and merchandise!

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

