Sun Hand 1

It was magic hour, and the atmosphere was frigid to the point where I felt icy needles piercing every millimeter of exposed skin. And by the time I was done getting the right angle for this shot, my hands felt like I’d immersed them in liquid oxygen. What I wouldn’t have given for sunlight that was as warm as it was bright. It seemed fitting to grasp a light source that seemed as far away as the promise of spring.

Every so often it’s refreshing to take a shot or two that’s not only fun but challenges the traditional notion of what a camera actually is or can be. In this case I used a tripod-mounted Cybershot wi-fi lens controlled from a smartphone. Later, Topaz Labs’ “comic book” filter added a touch of surrealism back in the blessed warmth of my home.

Exposure Data: ISO 100, f/5.6, 1/400

click here

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

