Church False IR

Infrared photography, based on heat rather than light, offers images with a different color palette. It’s a different way to the look at the world. And even though it’s technically restricted to film, digital effects can simulate it.

That was something I decided to try this week when I discovered this old church. As its boarded up windows stared over the town’s roofs, an atmosphere of quiet age brooded over its tower. I later learned it had been converted into a residence, and I admit to feeling a little envious of anyone who got to live in such an amazing place. It must be the gothic architecture: that always makes my mind take flight.Church Front

For the image itself I started by taking three bracketed shots with my tripod-mounted 7D and a Tamron lens zoomed out to 18mm. Each image was two stops apart, to capture the entire dynamic range. Later, Photomatix Pro stitched the images together; and Topaz B&W effects accomplished the pseudo-IR effects seen here. Lastly I added some of my signature vignetting.

Exposure Data: ISO 100; f/16; 1.6″, 1/3, 6″

Read More

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

Leave a Reply

