Bride and Groom Forehead Kiss 1000p

On the eleventh of October, I was filled with joy to marry my assistant JoDee! And if you need to determine how happy I am to be her husband, just look at this post’s photograph. She and I are starting a wonderful life together, and I’m pleased to share part of its opening chapter with all of my readers.

But this is a photography blog, so what’s my point? Simply put, I did something on the Big Day that I’m not sure how many would want to attempt. I wanted to be my own photographer!

But since I can’t clone myself, I acted more like a coordinator than an actual shutterbug. Providing the gear, selecting the settings, giving direction to the assistant shooters and providing disposable cameras for guests to use during the reception constituted most of my self-imposed duties. But when it came to the formal portraits, I took a more direct role. I wanted to do these Twilit Lens style.

So for the above photo (and others like it), I set up a brown muslin with a few fall-themed props. Two small Promaster softboxes were used for the light sources, so I was easily able to handhold my dslr. However, for the above “selfie” I broke out the tripod and had an assistant compose and take the shot according to my directions. A 50mm prime lens was used here, a lens I prefer for most of my portrait work because of its high image quality. Later, I used Imagenomic’s Portraiture filter to add some nice softening effects.

I had more fun on my wedding day than I ever thought possible and began an amazing new adventure. I love you, JoDee!

Exposure Data: ISO 200, f/1.8, 1/80

check this out

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

