Vanguard Tripod and Coal Cellar

The funny thing about ruins is how… well… “ruinous” they are. Sometimes they are so run down that a photographer might fear for her safety if she enters too deeply in.

This abandoned coal cellar is a prime example. Set amid a ghost town in the middle of a national park, this place looked about ready to collapse at any moment. And yet the sunlight shining in was so interesting, I knew I would kick myself if I failed to get the shot. That’s why I was glad I’d brought along a very special tripod.

The Vanguard Alta Pro, available from Amazon by clicking Vanguard Alta Pro 263AT Aluminum Alloy Tripod Legs with Multi-Angle Central Column System, allows for the detaching of the central post and reattaching it at an oblique angle. For the above shot, this meant that the camera could peek into the cellar while I remained outside. A wireless shutter release completed the ensemble and allowed for a shot that still provokes my thoughts today.

Never forget to observe safety first when exploring these haunting old buildings.

visit page

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

Leave a Reply

