Murder of Crows

My latest cemetery hunt led me to a charming Jewish establishment not far from Saratoga Springs. From the old iron gate to the lichen-encrusted monuments, it was to me solace after a hard day’s work.

And then when I saw a crow (how appropriate) I began to recite Poe’s “The Raven” to myself. The crows were cautious but kept looking at me with curiosity. Did they know I was talking about them? Hmm…

Wildlife photography is as challenging as they come. Animals follow their own agenda and only patience or happy circumstance will lead you to the shots that speak to you and your viewers. Thankfully, circumstance rewarded me this time; and I was in time for dinner. 🙂

For this shot, I had my 18-270mm zoom set at maximum focal length. My camera was set at high speed burst mode as well, to increase my chances of catching a dramatic “pose” from my subjects.

Exposure Data: ISO 160, f/7.1, 1/800

Read more

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

