New England Fortress: An Ansel Adams Inspiration

As Mr. Adams once said, “all should be encouraged to reveal themselves, their perceptions and emotions, and to build confidence in the creative spirit.” I recently did a presentation on Ansel Adams’ work to a few interested people, so I shouldn’t have been surprised when, after viewing some of his amazing creations, one of the hearers actually applauded. Even thirty years after his death, his work still moves people. Me included.

So it happened that during a short trip to Massachusetts I decided I wanted to produce something that reminded me of the master’s work: lots of dodging and burning and a little bit of the artist’s emotions rolled in.

This century-old tower reminded me of so many historic battles, Celtic ballads and tales of ghostly ladies, that I found myself walking around it with a perpetual smile on my face as I stared at it from all sorts of angles. And after taking this shot, I decided to put on my proverbial darkroom apron and channel a little of my hero.

Exposure Data: ISO 100, f/13, 1/125

HyperSmash

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

2 comments

  1. I happened upon that quote yesterday. There is also a good one about dodging and burning:
    “Dodging and burning are steps to take care of mistakes God made in establishing tonal relationships.” – Ansel Adams

Leave a Reply

