Memories of the Hunt: An Eerie Double-Exposure

Does anyone besides me find stuffed animals creepy?

During my recent Vermont trip, my assistant and I stopped at a local pizza shop that, as a certain Disney character might have said, used antlers in all of its decorating. The sight of all those staring glass eyes had its expected effect: I drew out my cameras. 😉

The main image was captured using my 7D with a 50mm prime, while the ghostly afterimage effect was brought from Fuji Superia ISO 400 film in a Holga 120 CFN body with 60mm lens attached. I used Photoshop to create a vignetted double-exposure effect, aligning the eyes of both images. Then Topaz Adjust’s Gritty II filter added contrast and static effects.

Exposure Data:
Digital Image: ISO 6400, f/8, 1/80
Film Image: ISO 400, f/8, 1/100

www.hypersmash.com

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

Leave a Reply

