Is APS-C Dead?

With so much hype going on about full-frame camera bodies like the Canon 5D Mark III and the Nikon D600, I wanted to plug my baby, the APS-C Canon 7D body, and its counterparts like the D7000. Yes, there is that smaller sensor. But provided you use an appropriate lens, that shouldn’t matter one bit to your composition.

Plus the 7D has a fast frame rate (faster than some full-frames), has a very rugged magnesium alloy construction, and has more features than most people will ever make use of. And let’s face it, APS-C bodies cost less.

The 7D is my workhorse, with a 60D as my backup (and yes I’ll plug the 60D one day soon, as I love it as well). Who isn’t tempted sometimes to get the latest and greatest? But in the end, it’s your skills as a photographer that matter more than your gear.

Hyper Smash

Written by The Twilit Lens

Freelance photographer and ponderer of the unusual. I welcome the presence of mystery and the unknown. Wonder is not absent from the universe, and there is still room for the child in those who haven't yet allowed their hearts to wither to dust.

4 comments

  1. Rock on!!! With that last firmware update the 7D kicks butt!
    I love my 7D and my 5D MII plan on using them until they fall apart.
    But as you said it’s not the gear, heck I shoot quite a bit with my Canon S100 love that it shoots RAW 🙂

    1. Always happy to hear from a fellow Canonista. 😉 When I bought my 7D from my local camera store, I got an approving nod from the salesman who was also an accomplished photographer. I haven’t regretted the purchase yet.

      1. Yep same here!
        I tried Nikon and the menus and controls were crazy!
        The camera club I belong to is majority Nikon and I laugh when they ask me how did I do this or that shot. I simply reply I did with my Canon 7D 🙂

Leave a Reply

